2010 Information

The 2010 season saw the league more than double in size and break in to three divisions.  The north was comprised of Brooklyn, Elizabeth, Flemington, and the New York Gothams.  The East was made up of Philadelphia, Delaware, Elkton, Havre de Grace and Chesapeake.  The south was made up of Talbot, Potomac, Arundel, and Bohemia.  Mechanicsburg joined in mid season as an associate member.  Williamsburg dropped out as the season started as they were not able to field a club.

The season itself was very competitive and the regular season crown went down to the last month.  On the last weekend of the season, Brooklyn pulled out a 1 game victory over Elkton.  A championship tournament was played at Ft Mott, New Jersey in October and it featured the top 6 clubs in the league.  In the quarter finals, Bohemia surprised Talbot while Elizabeth cruised over Potomac.  In the semi finals, Elkton made a furious comeback to over take its club mates, the Bohemia Eurekas.  In the other semi-final Brooklyn rolled over Elizabeth to set up a meeting between the Atlantics and the Eclipse.  For the first 6 innings, the Eclipse were in complete control of the match, but the wheels fell off and Brooklyn scored often over the next 3 innings to cruise to a comfortable win and its first league championship.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.